Michelle’s Review: The Twistrose Key by Tone Almhjell


The Twistrose Key by Tone Almhjelltwistrosekey

Published: October 22nd 2013 by Dial
Format/Source: Advanced Reading Copy from Book Expo America 2013
Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy (Illustrated)
Pages: 336

Synopsis:

A striking middle-grade debut in the tradition of The Chronicles of Narnia and The Golden Compass

When a mysterious parcel arrives at her family’s new home, eleven-year-old Lin Rosenquist has a curious feeling she’s meant to discover what’s inside.

Much to Lin’s surprise, the ornate key contained in the parcel unlocks a spellbinding world called Sylver, hidden behind the cellar door. Sylver is an enchanting land of eternal winter, inhabited by animals that shared a special connection with children in the real world, either as beloved pets or tamed wild animals. In death, they are delivered to Sylver, where they take on a curiously human-like form and still watch over the children they cherish. While Lin is overjoyed to be reunited with her beloved pet, Rufus, she soon learns that the magic of the Petlings and Wilders is failing, and snow trolls want to claim Sylver for themselves. Lin must discover a way to stop them and save this enchanted world.

Full of charm, suspense, and heartfelt emotion, this memorable classic in the making will leave readers breathless.

Review:

jokers3
The Twistrose Key is a book about grief and learning to move past it for the next adventure. Lin had a pet vole, Rufus, that recently passed away, leaving her very heartbroken and lost without her little friend. But when a strange package arrives with a key, she learns that perhaps life isn’t entirely over Rufus. For in the strange world that opens before her, the most loved pet of a child’s life lives on in a more human-form, doing tasks of a small village life.

It’s a very cute tale with all th…moreThe Twistrose Key is a book about grief and learning to move past it for the next adventure. Lin had a pet vole, Rufus, that recently passed away, leaving her very heartbroken and lost without her little friend. But when a strange package arrives with a key, she learns that perhaps life isn’t entirely over Rufus. For in the strange world that opens before her, the most loved pet of a child’s life lives on in a more human-form, doing tasks of a small village life.

It’s a very cute tale with all the animals going about life and allowing for the reunion of Lin with Rufus. There’s so much potential in this world. It seemed almost meant to be that I would choose to read this shortly before one of our guinea pigs passed away. It’s nice to think of a world where my doggies of my childhood are living on with new adventures, looking back at how I’m doing…

It can be very easy to get caught up in the emotions of loss and I will say the ending had me crying. But the majority of the story was focused on the mission that brought Lin to this world to save it. And that’s where it fell a little flat for me. It was hard to buy into the grander adventure. What exactly was the mission? Why did Teodor bring Lin when it seemed like he might have been capable to complete the mission without her? It seemed a little contrived at points which took away from my enjoyment of it. Additionally, I found the language a little hard to follow. It was the order of words sometimes that broke up the flow a little bit.

That said, I think it would be a great book for a middle grade audience, particularly one that might have pets and might need to grapple with their deaths someday.

jokerssig

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: